Day 5 – From dull to sharp – in many ways

Day 4 and 5 post surgery has been real “improvement” days. The worst pain from the incision has given way to more itching. It feels good in the way that I can feel it healing up nicely 🙂

ouchThe first pains was kind of all-over-pains, now they’re sharper and more precise and local.

The nights are a bit restless, since I wake up several times because of the pain both from the wound itself, as well as pain from the inside of my ear and discomfort from lying in unfamiliar postitions (more pillows etc). BUT, I sleep thorougly well, and even quite long into the morning. Usually I wake up when my girlfriend gets up or her son (4 years with ants in his pants) comes into our bed (very early!). Not so these days. I guess I sleep quite heavily. That is so nice, it’s been years since 🙂 On a sidenote; usually I sleep with a mouthpiece in order to prevent sleepapnea and common snoring (gives me sore throat). That has proven too painful these post surgery-nights, since one of the muscles attached to the skull and jaw-bone has been cut in 3 places (parallell to the muscle fibres as I understood it, in order to make room for the receiver underneath the muscle). It has been no problem using it for chewing, but the muscle has been swollen and therefore shorter than it usually is, thus resulting in too hard a bite and too much strain while using the mouthpiece. I slept just fine without it, no problem there 🙂

37018 Yesterday (and the days before) I found some strenght to do a little “chores” on my new over-the-top-bought-for-the-occasion-laptop (Norwegian link here), getting up to speed on both the Tour the France (watching live camera transmission of the last stages on the internet) things near and dear to me (Facebook etc) as well as catching up on e-mail and such. I planned before the surgery that I could be staying in bed for quite some time (up to weeks all depending!) and needed a decent tool for getting back into work while being bound to bed. (it is also very nice to watch movies on :-)  ) It was a smart decision on my part. I’m feeling I have purpose even though I’m “chained” to bed. I do as much as I can. And I can do much more with this tool than I otherwise could have… It’s kind of what makes us human; the ability to foresee and plan something  :-)  (feeling very clever now hehe)

young-couple-walking-in-the-park-thumb253841 First decent walk outside was yesterday in the evening, but a 100 meters and then sitting on a chair for an hour or so playing a boardgame was too much. I had headache (like normal headache) and throbbing pains on the side of my head when I went to bed. It took a considerable amount of time and a couple of painkillers before I drifted off to sleep… I didn’t take a walk today. Last nights experience scared me a little.

It dawns on me that I have really undergone major surgery, even though I suspect the eminent professor Claude Laurent who operated on me has used a new incision technique which is less intrusive and traumatizing method of inserting the implant (than the previous C or S-shaped incisions).

sagittal_CI The incision is straight and goes right behind my ear. The magnetic receiver underneath my skin has been placed almost directly above my ear. I expected it to be placed further back, but after pondering the “new” location I have come to the conclusion that it is probably better than having it further back. Real-life experiences will tell in time :-) 

(the image to the right has been taken from otosurgery.org and shows an implant that is located slightly further to the back of the head than it is in me (I believe))

These days I feel as if the reciver part of the implant (the biggest piece) is pressing my skull (above my ear) to the extent of being uncomfortable. I have no doubt, however, that this sensation will disappear given time.

Right now I have a rather sharp pain inside my ear. This pain emerged on day 3/4 when the pain from the fleshwound (incision) subsided slowly. I guess it’s two-sided pain; one part from the hole inside my inner ear (the surgery and the insertion of the electrode) and the other part from internal pressure due to swollen tissue, clotted blood etc. (I was snotting blood the first two days)

Tinnitus is back to “normal volume” (which I’m kind of used to) after having rather load fits on rather frequent occasions the first days. The only thing tiring now is that I have to lsiten to the tinnitus all the time. Look forward to activation! (waiting for letter from hospital about date for that one!)

Unstable-Walk-1-1024x768 Dizzyness is unchanged, I can’t turn my head much in any direction before everything “swims”. Just changing the weigth on my two legs is enough movement of my head and the vestibule in my inner ear for things to become “fluid” for me. A nasty feeling. I guess I have a slightly better understanding of what sufferers from Ménière’s disease have to endure… It’s as if I’m severly drunk without the effects of alcohol… Kind of…

Right now, the dizzyness is the biggest issue for me, hindering me in everyday chores.

I was off the painkillers from day 2, but have taken them as needed, not much anyway.

One Response to “Day 5 – From dull to sharp – in many ways”

  1. How am I doing, 8 days after surgery « Becoming Deaf in Norway 2007 Says:

    […] from the days after my first surgery (listed by date of publishing): day 3: Feeling beaten up… , Day 5 – From dull to sharp – in many ways , On the operating-table , Post-Surgery and The Day after , Tinnitus maximus terrorismus and some […]


Leave a Reply

