I was on national news today

Here is original video from NRK. The piece where I appear begins about 7 minutes into the news… It’s in Norwegian, of course 😉
http://www1.nrk.no/nett-tv/klipp/342000

I’m working on the video-file, but unfortunately the overstream.net-service written about here earlier is undergoing maintenance due to high demand (!!!).
Will post video here later with English captions…

For English speakers: the story is about the management-board at the premier hospital in Norway, the Rikshospitalet, has presented a budget proposal that will lead to a removal of CI-operations here in Oslo (see the list in the video). This piece is related to the debate going on these days. There are a lot of troubles concerning the Norwegian health-care system these days, and now the health minister, Sylvia Brustad has said that this year there will be no extra money in the budget for the hospitals. Her reaction to the problems is that “this is what I as a minister gave you, and if you spend more, well, then that’s a problem you will have to deal with yourself”. Here is an article explaining the background for today’s news-story with me as an exponent for the group that in the end will suffer because politicians and hospital-bureaucrats are not able to cooperate; the patients. Instead they are busy playing the blame-game… Shame on them! (OK, OK; it’s very simplified, and probably not an accurate picture, but it’s my opinion right now.)

It’s getting late, so I don’t have time to give you the whole picture now, but here’s a list of English news-sites about Norway

6 Responses to “I was on national news today”

  1. Bill Says:

    I have been using bubbleply.com while waiting for overstream to come back up, if that helps you…

  2. Jennifer Says:

    That is TOTALLY COOL!!! Now, the video shrank on me…and was short and wide, for some reason, so you were all squashed flat…I couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to open that box back up to the proper square shape again…so I will try again later…but I saw you, and that was so neat! I am anxious for Overstream to get back up so I can see all the captioning…I think that the recent burst of activity from the deaf vloggers captioning their videos has given Overstream more popularity than they were expecting!
    I’ll check back to watch it again later…you’re famous, Ulf! 🙂

  3. Abbie Says:

    That was so neat! I saw you Ulf! 🙂 Your a superstar!!!

  4. worshipful Says:

    It was FANTASTIC to see you on video! Great job – keep on advocating!

    Cindy

  5. DEBEDb Says:

    Overstream is back up on a better server. Thank you for your patience. You may observe the exciting drama leading up to this at http://overstream.blogspot.com.

  6. kim Says:

    Ulf– It was so fun to see you on TV! I hope to see the news in English too. It sounds interesting! No cochlear implants in Oslo for awhile? Wow! I wonder what else will have to be cut?


Leave a Reply

