Not hearing all voices

Last night it became very clear to me the difference between lip reading/hearing a person I know well, and lip reading/hearing someone I don’t know that well.

I visited my best friend, Rolf, for his birthday. We almost always have great conversations, this time over a nice dinner he made. I have almost no trouble understanding Rolf. Even with a little bit of background noise (like his 4 year old daughter who wants attention), I can understand most of what he says.

cupping_earAfter a while, another friend of Rolf, Alex, also came to wish him happy birthday, and since we’ve met before we engaged in a conversation about latest news in each others lives. I could not understand very well what he said, and had to ask him to repeat almost every time he said something…

Later on, in my car on my way home again, I figured it’s no wonder why people close to me have a hard time understanding how bad I really hear. Or why it’s hard to understand how bad I hear when the surrounding sound environment is quiet. I seem to function well, yet I don’t always.

Just the thought of the day I needed to put down in writing….

2 Responses to “Not hearing all voices”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Hi Ulf,

    I experienced the same thing as my hearing degraded. For some people I lost the ability understand them very early on, such as my father, but others I could understand with some effort even up to the point of being a CI candidate, such as my wife. I think it is a combination of the timbre/frequency/loudness of the particular voice, and familiarity.

  2. Abbie Says:

    I have to say familiarity plays a HUGE part in understanding people when you are deaf. I had several people say “I don’t know how you do it.”

    I say “I don’t know how I’m doing it.”


Leave a Reply

