Fatigue epiphany

epiphany

Just back from a session with my psychologist, where I dealt with the matter of fatigue. I learned something new about myself, and I guess this knowledge could be useful to many who are hard of hearing or near-deaf.

The state of fatigue is the subject that I want to raise here. Of course fatigue can have many reasons, both external, internal, material and spiritual. I want to discuss the mental aspect of it that became very clear to me today: When I get the notion in myself, that I’m tired, it starts a whole range of other reactions:

Emotions:

  • anxiety (am I sick, is something wrong with me?)
  • stress (what did I do to become so tired??? why is this happening?)
  • sadness (the feeling of fatigue sort of disables me from being energetic, joyful and contributing to my surroundings)
  • hopelessness (damn, is this how my life has become? Is this how I’m supposed to live my life???)
  • and many more… (it is a little chaos of mixed emotions)

The emotions manifests into:

  • Stomach feels like a brick, hard and heavy
  • Neck becomes stiff
  • Sensations of pain are more prone (backache, headache, muscle and tendons)
  • A constant state of emergency (to put it short)

Last week, when I spoke with my incredifaboulofantastic girlfriend about this subject, we agreed that when I have the notion of being tired, I should simply say; “I need a break”.

This was the genius of it: instead of saying that:

“Oh, I am tired, I need to go by myself and be more tired” (thus pushing myself even further into the mental state of fatigue),

I can say, “Oh, my senses had a handful, they need a little rest, and then I’ll be fine again”.

By digging into the notion of fatigue, and really FEELING the weight of the emotions, I have also become more aware of what is happening to me in terms of thoughts, reactions and the results of those… This way; I can make a difference in myself by avoiding chains of thoughts that give me negative emotions and drain me even further of the precious energy I need to cope with the present situation of being near-deaf…

I hope this means something to someone, because it was an epiphany to me!

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,,

3 Responses to “Fatigue epiphany”

  1. roberta Says:

    Yes, I can understand very well what you mean. I was often overwhelmed by fatigue of hearing.
    Roberta from Italy

  2. Hoh Says:

    That’s why I take my hearing aids out so often! During breaks at work, during lunch, almost every time I’m in my car, and always at home. It helps reduce fatigue – it “gives me a break!”

    I’m really enjoying reading your blog – may I ask how you learned English so well?

    Cindy

  3. Mark T. Gautreaux Says:

    I have been reading a lot on here and have picked up some great info. One thing I have found which works really well for better sleep, feeling more relaxed and focused is binaural beats. As strange as they may sound (excuse the pun) they are a very powerful method of relaxation.


Leave a Reply

