The importance of the eyesight when deaf part II – the conclusion

Getting used to contact lenses, and with the final adjustments just around the corner, I learned this:

My eyesight is as important to communicate verbally as my residual hearing with the hearing-aids!

With near 100% eyesight, I can tell the difference after a few weeks. Evidently I unconsciously strained my eyes to compensate for the slightly imperfect eyesight I had. This unnecessary strain has over time also contributed to the fatigue caused by multiple factors. Just how much strain is impossible to express in a number, but given my condition, I would say it is a quite significant strain that I now have eliminated…

I can tell from situations where people speak to me from a distance of a few meters away. I no longer have to walk toward them, since I can make out their lip movements from a few meters away. Earlier I would squint my eyes as much as I could possible do by using the muscles around my eyeballs, thus giving me strain-headaches and muscle-tensions in my face if I had do to it too much, say more than one hour in one stretch….

This experience is for me another evidence on how stretched my residual hearing has become, and how hard I actually work to participate in normal everyday verbal communication. I need that bilateral CI….

Leave a Reply

