Hard to understand?

I just read some of my former posts…  And one thing suddenly occurred to me as a difficult thing to understand; the fact that I get tired of what could be best described as faint noises… How is that possible when I’m so hard of hearing and next to deaf?

Well, the explanation is that the hearing aids I use are tuned to it’s maximum, perhaps a little over the top too…. For me a tractor working on a field a couple of hundred meters away from where I sit is audible (and annoying). The refrigerator has been mentioned. I pull out my hearing aids and listen to the tinnitus instead, it is less tiring actually.
All the faint sounds represent sound pollution to me. Since I need to rest (my hearing) when I’m not communicating verbally or when I have the (nowadays) occasional music listening experience, those faint sounds becomes obsolete sounds. That is by definition noise, to me.

My brain constantly seeks better understanding of the sounds it receives, and thus drains my resources constantly. That is how it must be. But when almost all the hearing has gone, the brains tries to compensate by working harder. My eyes (aka curiosity) seek out visual confirmation of the audio-signals the brain receives.

The hearing aids are designed to enhance ANY sound it receives. It has no way of making a distinction between noise and needed sounds. THIS fact causes overload on my hearing organ and my brain, since this is a constant condition.

The brain is the most fascinating organ in our body, as it is able to compensate and change during our lifetime. Loss of hearing causes other senses to kick in stronger, and when sound is still present, the brain will obviously continue to make the most of it.

The problem presents itself when I, as a human being, are met, and lives with demands that is contradictory to the auditory loss. Add the strains of everyday life in terms of stress, work, rush hours, information overload etc etc, and you have the recipe for a brain blackout if one is not aware of the danger of it.

Plus, I have to work extra hard to communicate with everyone around me. In that I have no choice. It is not an option to isolate myself from the real world where people I love and care for are. If I do that I am certain that depression and darker days will follow. That makes things worse.

Leave a Reply

